The 29th International Horticultural Congress | Sustaining Lives, Livelihoods and Landscapes | 17-22 August 2014
Back | Home > Symposia > Factories of Natural Substances, Edible & Essential Oils

Plants, as Factories of Natural Substances, Edible and Essential Oils

Sponsored by the ISHS Sections Medicinal & Aromatic Plants and Nuts & Mediterranean Climate Fruits Joint Session with the World Congress for Medicinal & Aromatic Plants (WOCMAP)

Symposium on "Plants, as Factories of Natural Substances, Edible & Essential Oils" will be held in Brisbane, Australia, over one or two days during the IHC Congress (17-22 August 2014). It will complement the Symposium on “Aromatic Plants, Essential Oils & Health- Future Prospects” that will be held during the World Congress on Medicinal & Aromatic Plants (17-20 August 2014). Both symposia will be open for delegates of IHC2014 and WOCMAP to attend.

The plant kingdom is a source for a wealth of natural substances produced in many forms and compositions. Edible and aromatic oils can provide healthy alternatives to highly processed foods and pharmaceuticals, bringing greater health into our lives. Oils derived from plants are being recognised as having added value; they are natural, chemical-free alternatives to artificially-derived products.

This symposium provides the opportunity for delegates interested in edible oils, in essential oils and other plant extracts to share their knowledge, successes and challenges.

Starting with the general, scientific aspects of the plant factories (botany, biochemistry, genetics, physiology and breeding), the symposium will then focus on edible and essential oil yielding crops. Plant oils are important groups of natural substances therefore presentations on their production, processing, as well as utilization will highlight several interesting issues. A special session will deal with MAPs in challenging conditions, in an attempt to reveal the scientific basis of their increased tolerance and adaptability to extreme conditions.

Leading scientists in the world in this area will be invited to present plenary lectures focusing on latest innovations and development in different areas. A mix of session topics presentations and posters will allow the exchange of new ideas and to discuss possible future developments and fruitful areas for research.

Presentations are invited on the following themes:

  • Plants, as oil and natural substance factories (botany, biochemistry, genetics, physiology and breeding)
  • Production and processing of edible and essential oil yielding crops
  • Development of new oil products and natural substances from plants
  • Traditional and modern uses of essential oils
  • Uses of edible oils and evaluation
  • Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (MAPs) in challenging conditions (dry areas, humid areas, mountainous regions).


Prof Dr Ákos Máthé is Chair of the ISHS Section Medicinal & Aromatic Plants and Vice-President of the International Council for Medicinal & Aromatic Plants. He is professor and head of the Department of Botany in the Faculty of Agriculture and Food Science at the University of West Hungary, Mosonmagyaróvár, Hungary. His main research areas are botany, ecophysiology of medicinal and aromatic plants and innovative diversification of horticultural production. He has been editor of several Acta Horticulturae volumes, scientific books and book chapters. He is board member of several scientific journals and has been (co)-convenor of numerous symposia.

Dr Vera Sergeeva is an international consultant in plant pathology and operates her own consultancy company, OliVera in Australia. She is well known in the Australian olive industry as an authority on pests and diseases of olive and their control. She has a specialist interest in mycology and has been involved in a number of research projects investigating olive diseases at the University of Western Sydney. She has written many book chapters, including a chapter in the book “Olive Diseases and Disorders”.

Scientific Committee

  • Ahu Cinar (Turkey)
  • Ana Maria Barata (Portugal)
  • Oliver Kayser (Germany)
  • Lyle Craker (USA)
  • Wieslaw Oleszek (Poland)
  • Nativ Dudai (Israel)